Getting creative

I’m beginning to get back into the swing of things. It’s taken a while.

Just over a year ago I decided to pluck up the courage to join a writing group. This was during the second lockdown and all our meetings were online (they still are). I wasn’t sure what to expect and thought that my inexperience would stick out a mile. It turned out that everyone brought different things to the table – we have a published author, a couple of poets and a few like me who enjoy writing and maybe have some dreams of stepping up to the next level.

We meet on a fortnightly basis and work from prompts – a word or phrase- and basically see what we all come up with. Our prompts tend to be random song lyrics or titles as our writing group has a musical background. For me, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t. What it does do is get me writing. I now have a small collection of short stories, poems and prose that I would never have had otherwise. It has sparked up my old brain and got me thinking creatively again. I have been inspired to carry on with a longer piece of writing I’ve been working on for some time.

I plan to share some of my short stories on my blog as I don’t just want them sitting festering on my laptop. If you enjoy a good yarn, boil the kettle, have a read and please let me know what you think.

First one coming up.

Leave a comment